Classifying Your Levels of Disability and Exertion

by DISABILITY PROFESSIONALS on February 22, 2013

Service DogWhen you apply for Social Security disability benefits, the Social Security Administration (SSA) will want to know exactly how physically able you are to perform any work and what levels of physical exertion you can handle.

When determining the physical exertion level you can withstand, the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT) can be helpful. The levels of exertion under job classifications change often, but they can be used as a rough guideline. A representative of Disability Professionals can explain the classifications and how they may pertain to your disability to you.

Jobs can be classified as “light,” “medium,” “heavy,” and “very heavy” and can range from sedentary jobs to walking or standing jobs. The classification of exertion that you can withstand will determine the amount of benefits you receive.

Getting Legal Help

If you or a loved one needs to pursue a disability claim or wishes to discuss claim eligibility, give Disability Professionals a call at 855-201-9569 or email DisabilityProfessionals to set up your appointment today.

Previous post:

Next post: